Return to Conference home page.

Keynote Speakers

We are proud to announce two international keynote speakers will headline our conference.

Professor John Crowe

Profile image of Professor John CroweNewman Professor, University College Dublin and Consultant in Gastroenterology and Liver Disease, Mater Private Hospital, Dublin. Professor Crowe is a distinguished gastroenterologist who has had an interest in haemochromatosis and liver disease since 1980. He has published over 200 international papers and presentations. Professor Crowe’s attendance has been made possible by generous sponsorship and support from the Australian Liver Foundation.

Professor Pierre Brissot

Image of Professor Pierre BrissotProfessor of Hepatology, and former head of the French Reference Center for Rare Genetic Iron Overload Diseases, at University Hospital Pontchaillou, Rennes (France). He has acted as visiting professor of medicine at University of California San Francisco, Harvard Medical School (Boston), and University of California San Diego. His research interests include iron and the liver, with special focus on genetic hemochromatosis. He has authored or co-authored more than 300 peer-reviewed publications. He is Past-President of the French Association for Study of Liver Diseases (AFEF) and of the International BioIron Society (IBIS). He received the Marcel Simon award in 2013.

Other Confirmed Speakers

Speakers include many of the leading figures in research, clinical treatment and support of haemochromatosis in Australia.

Professor Emeritus Lawrie Powell AC MD PhD FRACP FRCP (London) Director of Research at the Royal Brisbane and Women’s Hospital and Professor Emeritus, The University of Queensland. Lawrie is co-patron of Haemochromatosis Australia.

Professor Martin Delatycki Director of Clinical Genetics, Austin Health, Director, Bruce Lefroy Centre for Genetic Health Research, Murdoch Childrens Research Institute, Melbourne VIC

Professor John Olynyk Director of Gastroenterology, Fremantle Hospital, Fremantle WA

Professor Greg Anderson Deputy Director and Group Leader, Iron Metabolism, QIMR Berghofer Medical Research Institute. President International Bioiron Society.

Professor Nathan Subramamiam Group Leader, Membrane Transport, QIMR Berghofer Medical Research Institute.

Professor Grant Ramm Group leader, Hepatic Fibrosis, QIMR Berghofer Medical Research Institute.

Professor Geoff McColl Head of the School of Medicine, The University of Melbourne

Barbara de Graaff PhD candidate, Menzies Institute for Medical Research & Research Fellow at University of Tasmania

Dr Katie Goot MBBVS, FACRRM, Rural GP, Volunteer GP Liaison Officer Haemochromatosis Australia (QLD)

Dr Sim-Yee Ong MBBS, FRACP, Gastroenterologist & Hepatologist, PhD Candidate, Mi-iron Team (Vic)

Dr Barbara Bell National Medical Services Director, Australian Red Cross Blood Service

Dr Olivia Wright BHSc Phd Dietitian and lecturer in Nutrition and Dietetics, University of Queensland

Mr Ben Marris OAM President, Haemochromatosis Australia

Return to Conference home page.